top of page

The Grab

Directed by:

Gabriela Cowperthwaite


102 minutes

An investigative journalist uncovers the money, influence, and alarming rationale behind covert efforts to control the most vital resource on the planet.


Friday, October 27, 2023 at 1:00 PM

Sunday, October 29, 2023 at 1:15 PM


In-Theatre ONLY. Not available on-demand.

This film is sponsored by:



The Grab reveals a new world order in which global power will be held by those who control food instead of oil. This explosive exposé combines hard-hitting journalism with compelling character-driven storytelling, taking you around the world to reveal one of the world’s biggest and least exposed threats.


Without publicity, governments, wealthy investors, and private security forces are dividing up the world’s last remaining food and water resources. Communities are forced to stand by as their aquifers are drained, and land they have owned for generations is sold away. Purchasers aim to control the natural resources that are needed for the world’s population to survive in the future, Investigative reporters have discovered that this is occurring on a global scale. One current example is Russia’s attack on Ukraine’s grain exports, using food access as a geopolitical tool.

The Grab



filmmaker-Luke Stirtz.png

Gabriela Cowperthwaite

filmmaker-Luke Stirtz.png

filmmaker-Luke Stirtz.png

Gabriela Cowperthwaite, born in 1971, is an accomplished American filmmaker renowned for her documentaries and feature films that often spotlight social, cultural, and environmental issues stemming from real-life events. A testament to her influential work is her groundbreaking documentary, "Blackfish" (2013), which delves into the treatment of orcas in captivity and instigated significant changes in SeaWorld's practices.

Cowperthwaite's multicultural upbringing saw her born to a Brazilian psychoanalyst mother and an American real estate developer father. Raised in Denver and speaking Portuguese as her primary language, Gabriela embraced sports, particularly soccer. Her educational pursuits took her to Occidental College in Los Angeles, where she earned a degree in political science. Subsequently, she attained an MA in Political Science from the University of Southern California.

Embracing her educational foundation, Cowperthwaite delved into the world of documentary-making, collaborating with esteemed channels like National Geographic, ESPN, Animal Planet, and more. 2010 marked a significant year for Gabriela, with the release of "City Lax: An Urban Lacrosse Story", an independent feature documentary highlighting the transformative power of sports in urban environments. 

However, it was 2013's "Blackfish" that catapulted her into global recognition. Premiering at Sundance and broadcasted on CNN, the documentary explored the tragic incident involving an orca named Tilikum at SeaWorld. The film's profound impact, termed "The Blackfish Effect", led to SeaWorld ending its orca breeding program and performances.

Cowperthwaite's storytelling prowess is not limited to documentaries. 2017 saw her venture into drama with "Megan Leavey", based on real-life events from the Iraq War. In 2019, she directed "Our Friend", featuring star actors and based on the touching story of a couple grappling with a terminal illness.

Earning accolades like a BAFTA nomination and an International Documentary Association Award nomination, Gabriela's body of work speaks for itself. Beyond her professional life, she resides in Los Angeles with her family, grounding her vast experiences in the love and support of her husband and two sons.



Gabriela Cowperthwaite


Gabriela Cowperthwaite


Gabriela Cowperthwaite, Producer (p.g.a.)

Blye Pagon Faust, Producer

Nathan Halverson, Producer (p.g.a.)

JoeBill Muñoz, Associate Producer

Mallory Newman, Associate Producer

Amanda Pike, Producer (p.g.a.)

David Ritsher, Line Producer

Nicole Rocklin, Producer

Emma Schwartz, Associate Producer

Yinuo ShiArchival, Producer | Associate Producer

Executive Producers

Dan Cogan

Geralyn White Dreyfous

John Driscoll, Co-Executive Producer

Lauren Driscoll, Co-Executive Producer

David Fialkow

Nina Fialkow

Doree Friedman

Anil Godhwani

Lauren Haber, Co-Executive Producer

Kelsey Koenig, Co-Executive Producer

Jan McAdoo

Debbie McLeod

Patty Quillin

Jenny Raskin

Rick Rosenthal

Christa Scharfenberg

Nancy Stephens

Lessing Stern

Jeff Ubben

Laurie Ubben


Jeff Beal


Jonathan Ingalls


Davis Coombe

Sound Department

Jacob Bloomfield-Misrach, Supervising Sound Editor, Re-recording Mixer

Anthony Di Marco, Dialogue Editor

Phil Hartley, Sound Recordist

Michel Marrano Holbrook, Audio Post Supervisor

Isaac Olsen, Dialogue Editor, Re-recording Mixer

William Sammons, Sound Effects Editor

Visual Effects

Julie Henninger, Visual Effects Artist

Tracy K. Hindman, Motion Graphics Project Manager

Breece Kelsey, Motion Designer

Aaron Lenius, Motion Designer

Chris Probst, Motion Design Intern

Matt Schultz, Motion Graphics Creative Director

Shawna Schultz, Motion Graphics Executive Producer

Ryan Scobey, Motion Graphics Producer

Eric Sinha, Motion Designer

Shannon Wilkerson, Motion Designer

Camera and Electrical Department

Emma Schwartz, Additional Cinematography

Editorial Department

David A. Davidson, Colorist

Sim T. Davidson, Post-production Coordinator

Tessa Malsam, Assistant Editor

David Ritsher, Post-production Coordinator

bottom of page